What is Down syndrome? Down syndrome is a mental retardation to some of us. Not many but to the 1:1000 ratio of every 100 parents have their child with Down syndrome. It is sometimes a malformation. Some of the kids I saw before have difficult with speaking straight. But I can talk straight. Why? I also don’t know why in the first place that I talk so fast. Maybe God gives me a special medication, to message every parent with their special children that I can be an inspiration for each and every special child in the world. I never know that the world is huge for us, especially the world now has seven billion of human population. That includes the human deaths in seven billion. But in the count of population today is four billion and still counting.

 

Dr. John L. H. Down, an English physician, first discovered the syndrome in 19th century where he described to mongoloids (now as Down syndrome) to some of his patients with the same cases. With a difficult to read, sometimes a difficult to speak or different cases that includes the case. It was during Jose Rizal’s time if I may recalled. Dr. Down tolerates people not to burden the children with special needs. In some of few cases I have read, he didn’t realize what was the cause of Down syndrome. Unusual as he may recalled for the case. But he saw the same symptoms where he studied the conditions. Other kids with the same case before died earlier at the age of 10. As the generation passed, Dr. Down now didn’t know the life span of Down syndrome today will be living up to their lifestyle of other humans also.

 

Jose Rizal was in the world already during Dr. Down on June 19, 1861 while his mother conceived bearing him on November 18, 1828. Rizal died on December 30, 1896 on the same year Dr. Down died on October 7, 1896. Rizal died in a young age of 35 while Dr. Down died in old age of 67 years old. Abraham Lincoln on the other part was already in the world on February 12, 1809 and died on April 15, 1865 at the age of 56 years. Lincoln was the past of Dr. Down and Rizal was the during Dr. Down’s life. Emilio Aguinaldo was also in the world of Dr. Down when he born on March 22, 1969 and died in a old age of 94 years when he died on February 6, 1964. Three of the greatest names, Rizal, Aguinaldo and Lincoln were living during Dr. Down’s life.

 

How I overcome Down syndrome? It was when I was in second year high school at the age of 16. Barely enough I didn’t know my schoolmates and some of my classmates teased me as abnormal. Not knowing at the start of my life, it was part of my growing up. People really didn’t like me before. I was little curious when I was young. I was very talkative, dancing and shouting names as if I don’t care to some people. I don’t mind them because I was happy at that time. Not until when I entered high school, people were now curious looking at me around the school. Little they knew about me, they were defining me as a successful person in the future if I overcome. Then in the Biology when our Science teacher taught about genetics. And Down syndrome have discussed in the class along with the other genetic problems in human lives. And there she was pointing me as if I knew the Down syndrome case I have had. I did coming home after classes. As I came tumbling and didn’t care about chores and studies, I bothered my parents. I asked them why I did having Down syndrome partly in my life.

 

There was a times that my world would driven me out a little cause. Dismantling my mind would become a disaster or maybe I should forget myself and denying all the time. My feet trembles and my eyes soaks full of tears that night. I banged my head sometimes to the wall. I kept denying and denying. Until later of my life during 2011, my cousin invited me in some kind of business she was doing. I was, on the other hand, having my cellphone loading business. During my peak before in my loading business, I was now curious if I took a chance getting a job. And I’ve entered multi-level marketing or such as networking business. I’ve discovered that I have potential. And little by little, every seminar I’ve listened many times. The word of abnormal came out every time the speaker spoke many times. And I seized that very day when I finally nearly stopped doing the mlm business. After leaving the business in October 2011, I finally took and wore off my last medicine I was taking. It was the last powdered vitamin C medicine I swallowed in my throat and drank with water. Without knowing it, I’ve discovered along the road with my family roots both in my father’s side and my mother’s side. Both sides were rich in history. And I came from a middle-class family. Without building myself having Down syndrome, I finally learned to accept who I was. The lessons I have learned is to be better among the rest of population either in Philippines or the entire planet as well.

 

Fourteen years I kept denying myself having Down syndrome was the sin I kept myself for that too long for me. Then I realized that I was more blessed. Keeping me by my parents with an attitude, the ethics, the gesture and everything kept me stronger along the road of journey I was in. So here I am, more happiness and more likely to receive more blessings although I’m a bit of surprised of generation today. I am even more aware of what road I will taking in the next chapter. Since I love science, literature, history, elementary math, music, arts and dancing, I’m even surprising parents with their children with special needs. Other people little they know about me begin to ask, “How do you overcome Down syndrome?” And I simply answer their questions in this kind of article I am writing about me, Dr. Down’s discovery and the life within the world.

 

I’ve just to rephrase just a little quote about this: “Life is success in every shape of the world” to “Life corners the world with every and each success in each of human living in this world.”

