It had been numerous times I have visited Bay (Poblacion), Laguna when I have visited last Thursday. Bay means “Bah-ee” from the three ladies of Maria Basilia, Maria Angela and Mara Elena. Their first letter of their names were taken out thus it called Bae. After a long period of time, now it is called as Bay.

 

When I have visited the Bahay ni Senor (House of Senor), it was said that it didn’t burn by the Spaniards and even the Japanese soldiers during the period of time. The house have been built since late 1800’s. The surroundings were fields and among around the Barangay San Agustin (Poblacion) was the Saint Augustine Parish Church. The church was near from the place I’ve used to stay. It was around 3-5 minutes of walk going there to the church.

 

And so I thought, I would like to write an article about the chapel house that built in 1900’s during the Spanish reign. Owned by the Salvosas, Dr. Felipe Salvosa came from Polilio, Quezon and he was attended Boston University where he finished his studies taking up Bachelor in Science of Forestry. He married then, Felicidad Leon Salvosa where she was a native of Bay, Laguna. My grandmother was eldest daughter of Dr. Felipe and Felicidad. Up to now, we went to Bay, Laguna just to attend Good Fridays and sometimes in All Saints Day in November.

 

I grew up not knowing of my family roots before. But when I realized my family roots after I’ve graduated in college taking up a culinary certificate. Two years after when I finally knew my family roots, both in my father’s side and my mother’s side. My mother’s side were most coming from Bacolod, Negros Occidental and Kawit, Cavite. And my father’s side were most coming from Javier, Leyte (formerly Bugho, Leyte) and Bay, Laguna. Even after two years, everything went smooth for me. I’ve been granted to accept my condition as a special adult (my condition was Down syndrome or trisomy 21 chromosomes).

 

My father’s side have a hugh lineage coming from Veloso, Salvosa and Javier. Most of the Velosos came from Cebu, Bohol and Leyte where it began the civilization of Velosos. But it seems all of the Salvosas came from Polilio, Quezon and Bay, Laguna. Well my side of Javiers were coming from eastern side of Visayas which it was Leyte. The part of Leyte have a hugh part of civilization and gave a history behind of it. But then, in my mother’s side were also have a hugh lineage coming from Nartea, Sian and Torres. Sians were originally came from the mainland of China, the Szechuan. The Narteas also came from Carigara, Leyte but it was confirmed originally also came from Kawit, Cavite. And the Torreses came from the Romblon islands and Bacolod, Negros Occidental. Of which I know, some of these surnames I come up with sometimes may lead into wrong places. I mean it was not originally came from. But it was my  opinion.

 

Throughout of my knowledge, Bay sat and have said the oldest town of Laguna. It have been founded in 1500’s. And it was a wide vision when I knew this today. So far, it was one of my favorite places I’ve used going to this place aside from Javier, Leyte, Kawit, Cavite, Cebu and Bacolod, Negros Occidental.

Chapel

Chapel

Carriage

Carriage

Jesus Image

Jesus Image

Jesus Image 2

Jesus Image 2

Candle lighting

Candle lighting

