Independent

Independent

Independent comes from the dictionary meaning, adjective 1) not influenced or controlled by others in matters of opinion, conduct, etc., thinking or acting for oneself, 2) not subject to another’s authority or jurisdiction; autonomous; free, 3) not influenced by the thought or action of others, 4) not dependent; not depending or contingent upon something else for existence, operation, etc. and 5) not relying on another or others for aid or support, noun 1) an independent person or thing, 2) a small, privately owned business, 3) Politics. a person who votes for candidates, measures, etc., in accordance with his or her judgment and without regard to the endorsement of, or the positions taken by, any party 4) Ecclesiastical. an adherent of Independency and 5) British. a Congregationalist. (Resources from http://www.dictionary.com)

 

Trivia: Independent from 1610’s, from in- “not” + dependent (q.v.) Fr. independent is arrested from c.1600; It. Independente from 1590’s. Noun meaning “person not acting as part of a political party” is from 1808. (Resources from http://www.dictionary.com)

 

Life is hard as you even thought to become independently. What is it to become independently in your own? Do you really have what it takes to become independently? Sometimes I feel the same. But in my experiences, I didn’t become one to be independently before. It was really hard to cope with in your situations. I did become rebellious when I was a child. Back then when I was 16, when I heard from my Science teacher how my condition was, being having with Down syndrome. It really took me time to understand through the years of experiences. And yes, sometimes I was almost reached to become independently before. It was a mistake really. But it takes me time to heal on my own.

 

So what’s the story you have to know about me? Becoming independently is not as easy as you think about. I was silly really when I was a kid. No matter what I walked away from home numerous times before, but still I didn’t know how to become to be independently. I lack of experiences of it. But the way I see around the house is how you will flow your life in the future. Becoming a mother in early ages sometimes takes you advantage to become independent. And yet, in some of the terms, independent makes you stronger. Why? It really shapes your identity to become one.

 

How to become independent? Let me give you some six examples:

1. Learn how to cook.

(It really gives you more time in your early age and practices your skills in a long time. And practice is the best example to give your patience with practicing to cook.)

2. Learn how to clean the house.

(The school have to provide economic studies around your lifestyle. It has to be you to practice your skills to be clean. When you’re skilled enough, then you are ready.)

3. Learn how to take care of the dogs.

(It doesn’t need to have improvise in your studies. It has to be you. When you know how to take bath of your dog, walk your dog, feed your dog and pet your dog. It gives you practice to take care of yourself to become one independently.)

4. Learn how to go to the place you want to go.

(Practice yourself like a sense of direction. If you have lack of sense of direction, you can’t practice wherever you want to go. Always give your time with two extra hours going to your location. When you almost lost in your direction. Always have sense of time and sense of seeing the places, so you can’t be lost in your sense of direction. Practice yourself going not only once but three times.)

5. Learn always have to cure yourself in case of emergency.

(This is important in your life. Learning how to take care of yourself is one of the main reasons of your health. When you have colds, headache or cough, always have extra medicine in your bag whenever you go or staying at your place.)

6. Learn how to educate your money.

(Are you already bankrupt? Learn how to spend your money well in times of emergency. When you are feeling low in your money, always have enough to carry money in your pocket. So you can’t be caught by a thief stealing you a big cash. Learn always how to budget your money and how to extend your expenses in a month. And learn to write it down your expenses in a diary, so you can see how your money flows in a month and in a year.)

 

I feel independently coming in my age. I am already in my early 30’s and I have a special condition being having with Down syndrome. Being having with my special condition doesn’t mean that I have to rely on my sisters or on my parents. And my parents are already in their early 60’s. What do I have to expect? I practice myself in a manner whenever I am ready to go as independently. I already have my own registration of applying in passport, tin card, SSS card, PWD card, postal card and important files such as NBI clearance, police clearance, barangay clearance and cedula. With my knowledge in varieties of life comes every shape of your life. And so here I am ready to go independently. And the big question is, “when will I have to start?” Being on your own practices your life independently. With six examples that I give above practices you more to become independently and it gives everyone to practice these six examples. It gives you more importantly, but in a same way, it gives you more time.

