I was born in the world being having with mosaic Down syndrome. But to tell you the truth honestly, it turn out that I am really a blessing that God sent me here. What’s all about me?

 

I am now at early 30’s. I’ve discovered that I have being with Down syndrome. Sixteen years have been passed when my biology teacher said that I was different from the rest of the class. At first, I didn’t know what to do. I became clueless and disoriented. So I came home and told my parents if I really could have the special condition. The day it became closer to me. I was always telling me if I really have that kind of case. My intelligence was being pushed and pushed as I considered one of my favorite subject was Science. Therefore, I learned the field of genetics where it falls in the branch of Science.

 

Genetics, according to the dictionary, is the science of hereditary, dealing with resemblances and differences or related organisms resulting from the interaction of their genes and the environment. (Reference: http://dictionary.reference.com)

 

And at the same time, I fell in my own hands determining that I couldn’t accept my fate being having with the special case I have. I have been 14 years to heal that I could accept myself. Although a long period of time couldn’t take to heal in own self, there was a time I couldn’t take my chances. And chances it was really hard to heal. One of my hardest regrets in my life was my decision to make. So in 14 years I couldn’t take hearing from the society that I am not belong to. It was a blessing. And my biggest achievement in my life was to accept my condition.

 

Two years ago when I finally accepted my decision to make was the hardest decision to let it go. And I guess being having with mosaic Down syndrome, I am a blessing disguised in heaven. With my doubts on me, sometimes I couldn’t take serious on my own. To tell you the truth honestly, my parents did all their best just to raise me well. And they did. I didn’t go to the physical therapy. But I did going in occupational therapy and speech therapy. My mom spent years for me to study in one of the speech therapists before. And I went a whole lot more before. Each time I wanted to remember, I asked my parents what was my condition before.

 

Speech therapy was one of the expenses my parents spent on me. And on part of that, occupational therapy was also that I considered also one of the expenses that my parents spent on me. Honestly I couldn’t remembered one bit of memory before. I have the longest long-term memory that I could remembered. But the thing was I also have short-term memory which I forgot my entire childhood memories. But whenever I asked from my classmates, my cousins and even from friends, they told me their stories about me.

 

In grade school, I’ve graduated in high colors graduating two times already. One was during my sixth grade before entering high school but I’ve ended up finishing seventh grade in the school in 1995. But the school have had still accepting me to study although I was the one and the last seventh grader in Montessori Integrated School of Antipolo. So I was the happiest student back then. And one was during seventh grade before going to high school in 1996. My biggest dreams back in elementary days was to become volcano photographer because I loved volcanoes very much until now. Although I have cellphone camera, I still want to earn more money to buy the expensive camera. It will be one of my blessings in life.

 

And in my high school life was entirely different from the elementary days. Before I became aware of my own self, I looked around to my classmates when I was in fifth grade. My heart have still the beat that I have a new crush back then. It was only the word of crush meaning, “the admiration in life.” And did you know that I was becoming aware in fifth grade? Now you know me already.

 

And of course when I was in high school prime years, the freshman year was challenging year for me although I didn’t take elective subjects as my teachers and my parents have agreed to. But I still have managed to attend the elective classes. Then of course, I also went up and down during my sophomore year. Some of my schoolmates thinking that I was a freak or maybe a word of “sped.” That word was already a derogatory word for me. Because the meaning of the word itself was translated to “retarded.” Around in junior year, I also discovered one of my talents before was writing. It was a blessing from the skies. And I enjoyed very much that year because of the junior prom who I dated my auntie, a year younger than me. And in my senior year was also my memorable moments in my life. I have said to my classmates and in my school if want to be an actor, I would still dreaming and hoping to be one in the future. It was one of my higher colors that was included blessings in life.

 

I may be graduated already in high school but the college was one of the hardest to cope to study on. Despite I chose culinary certificate course in Center for Culinary Arts in year of 2000 over the hotel and restaurant management diploma course in Montessori College. I got the passing grade in the other school with 88 but I chose to enter the culinary school with also the passing grade of 75. It was the hardest education in my life but still a blessing in life. I also finished in one of the pioneer culinary schools in the country which was the Center for Culinary Arts. I finished in three years in culinary but the course was 2 years course. To tell you the truth before entering in college, one of my dreams was to finish college. Because I believed some of you may not finishing college years in your life. And so I did my best. I studied and graduated in one of the pioneer culinary schools, the Center for the Culinary Arts. Although I moved four batches already, I have had and made some wonderful friends in college totaling numberless. It was a blessings in life.

 

After I graduated from the culinary school, it was a huge desperation to get the big check in my life – a salary. I was aiming for the salary raise. During that time, my family have had in financial crisis and my dad sold their family company on someone’s else – the car-making pipes industry. It was there already, but I believed it was a fate chance that gave me a wonderful life.

 

Before 10 years to this present, I was now a graduated jobless person thinking what job will fits for me. I was very choosy in terms of seeking a job. And so I ended up as a chef consultant which where I worked with my mother’s friend in front of the St. Jude nursing school in Sampaloc, Manila. And it only lasted two months. It was a desperation move for me although I’ve been hooked and addicted playing online games in the computer. But I give my chances to learn more in the future. And the second job I took was being a chef in Sacocina Catering where I worked in Robinsons’ Fairview in Teletech call center branch. Everyday I saw some of agents talking in English, none of them became unaware for me. Because all I know have to learn more in English language. Running later in 9 years, I gave my chances to train myself in call center training in Ortigas where I massively learned the basics of English language. I really wanted to learn so much in English language. It was one of the blessings in life I’ve received.

 

And at the time I knew about myself, two years ago when I stepped in one of my biggest regrets, joining the multi-level marketing or networking company where I joined at least one. One was enough for me and I learned and tired listening to the rich people screaming the derogatory word of “abnormal.” And so I claimed myself that I finally accepted who I belong and went back to my own feet again. Last year was full of blessings in life.

 

I named the categories that I was blessed about:

1. I’ve entered call center training because I wanted to learn more about the basics of English language. It was not that I really wanted to go in one of the exclusive call center jobs. It was that I really wanted to learn more of the basics.

2. I’ve joined the organization of Down Syndrome Association of the Philippines or DSAPI where I learned that I wasn’t alone in the country being despite with Down syndrome in February 2012’s Happy Walk. That Happy Walk day was also my birthday.

3. My loading business paid off well in the charts and boosted my financial savings as well.

4. I’ve applied on my own applying for my first postal ID on September 2012.

5. My first short-inspirational speech talk have became part of my life and I was invited to talk in University of Santo Tomas (UST) on November 19, 2012, Monday morning.

6. I’ve applied in one of my first organization PWD ID which it was the DSAPI ID in December 2012’s DSAPI christmas party.

7. I’ve applied numerous applications in re-applying of NBI clearance and barangay clearance last January 2013.

8. I’ve applied my first PWD ID last March 2013.

 

It was all blessings in life. Although I am ready to go independently thinking if I could do it on my own, I am thinking to follow one of my biggest dreams – to become an actor in entertainment industry. If I do well in life, then I am ready to face the entertainment world. It was also thankful that I saw the wonderful movie of I Am Sam which it was about the father being having with Down syndrome and his normal daughter who never thought he could raise on his own.

 

Being having with my own self that I really love about is writing, drawing, acting if I could do it on my own and be part of the society also. I love being with myself. Without the blessings in life wouldn’t keep my ground off from the chart. But I am still looking for my dream board – to have my own house, to have my own business, to have family and to have helping other special children. And so if I do this on my wish list, I could far places such as Leyte, Bacolod, Cebu, Bohol, Davao and many parts of provinces of this country of the Philippines. I really love Philippines so much. And I love being with myself as a Filipino.

 

One of my biggest dreams now today is to become an actor if I could do it on my own earnings without a help from my parents. And I want to help my parents so much because they really raise me well. I decide to make it good in health and for the people I really care about.

