Somewhat in 1985-1988 Passport Picture

Somewhat in 1985-1988 Passport Picture

What is Down syndrome? Normally the new parents are asking the same question why do they have their child have with Down syndrome. There are normally two copies of 21 chromosomes on each side, one copy from a male and one copy from a female. But the genetic studies, there are three copies of 21 chromosomes.

 

Well in this article, I will bring you one topic, not less or more subjects.

 

Why Down syndrome?

 

I may be living as a normal to everyone. But to tell you the truth, no one seems to know me that I also have Down syndrome. Three copies of Down syndrome. It was called mosaic trisomy 21 Down syndrome. And that’s where I begin to fight over my case in the past years. Because I was in denial stage that time. Now in the terms you didn’t notice, mosaic trisomy 21 Down syndrome is a slightly chances to have change through the years.

 

Pure trisomy 21 or full trisomy 21 is the presence of an extra number 21 chromosome, the error or misdivision of chromosomes occurs in the egg or sperm cell that becomes the zygote. Because this error was at the very beginning of development, every cell that comes from this zygote will have an extra number 21 chromosome.

 

Mosaic trisomy 21 is the error or misdivision occurs after fertilization at some point during early cell division. Because of this, people with mosaic Down syndrome have two cell lines – one with the normal chromosomes, and one with an extra number 21.”

(Researched in http://downsyndrome.about.com/od/whatcausesdownsyndrome/a/mosaic_ro.htm)

 

Little did I know in my life, I realized that I wasn’t a sophisticated one. I rather to be called also one of the living factor in this little world called earth. I may be not boasting you to tell you this, but I would like to share what I decide to write this article about me, my life with being Down syndrome.

 

It’s not a big deal to have being with Down syndrome. I’ve discovered when I was in sophomore year in high school. The science teacher pointed out that I have had the case of Down syndrome. Little did I know that I didn’t know back before. I was having a little dilemma if I really have being what it takes to have Down syndrome.

 

So I came home and told my parents if I really have had on it. And yes from their mouths, then the world somehow devoured on me. I didn’t know all the time. I was in sixth grade or maybe in fifth grade when I began shifting to recall my memories. My voice somehow changed me as well. But the copies of Down syndrome didn’t get on my way.

 

Upon entering my college years before, my world began shifting again. This time, I told my batch mates if they were really know what was really like to have a friend with Down syndrome. One batch to another batch, I found one batch that I could really stayed and graduated with them. One of them became my best friend.

 

After the years it really came to my life that I have to accepted who I was. Then I found one group who among the parents have their child or adult with Down syndrome. It was an instant change that I have to join. It was one of my best endeavors when I realized that I wasn’t alone all the while. Down Syndrome Association of the Philippines or DSAPI was already in 20 years of service.

 

I joined 20th Happy Walk last February 2012, the first Happy Walk I’ve ever joined. But the community there somehow I knew was little that time. But my eagerness to come out somehow changed me again. Well I’m sort of talkative. But not as always, I’ve always want to talk. There is a dilemma again.

 

Let’s forward for this topic today. I have a job today. After seven years and seven months searching the job database in the nation of Philippines, I realized that I was a high functional Down syndrome, according to what my boss told me about it. It may be weird for you to hear, but I am aware what would be your reactions look like. My jobs before was different before. I began all my three jobs only lasted two months. None of them kept me in their service. Was it because of being competitive in the first place? They should treated me as one of them, not as a different from others.

 

Living with being Down syndrome is not difficult to handle with. In the community where I joined, new parents came closer to me. They have had even congratulated me for what I was being accomplished as one of the different from others. After living in 32 years, I finally cried for who I was to be. And it was my first time I discovered that I have potential in my career. I may be not perfect one, but as a gifted one, who have potential career ahead of time. Wish I could have my long life in more coming years of life.

 

The community where I joined and the work where I worked were the only treasure circle of friends I really trusted. I have never doubt them to become my friends. I may have few friends who were closer to me, but they were really closer to me. Among them in the small crowd of big population of 95 million Filipinos around the nation were really nice to me. It was nice to write, but sooner I will bring more articles to enjoy you will be reading.

 

Itsmikki Studio. 2013 Copyrights. All rights reserved.

