Discrimination is always a number one enemy in our mind at the back of our head. It’s an unusual word for me although it lacks an information for those who haven’t heard from that word. Mongoloid is also a negative derogatory word. And other derogatory words, I would not mention anymore. Because it has deeper meaning to us also.

 

What we can do to change the world?

 

1. Stop using the word of Down syndrome kid. It’s an appropriate word. Use the words properly: person with Down syndrome, a child with Down syndrome and an adult with Down syndrome.

2. Create a small group, a small organization or a sibling support system. With this, you can change the community in a small occasion manner.

3. Start campaigning on your neighborhood with this kind of project.

 

These three small steps I’ve created at the back of my head will be my project in the coming months. And I will be changing the town into a greater town. So anyone could acknowledge that people with Down syndrome has more unique characteristic talent and flourishing more on their talents which they could be independent like me.

 

Understanding the child with Down syndrome has become part of the society. But growing up with them has also alarming in the society. Some people as it may seems, they don’t consider the person with Down syndrome to become part of them. Other people in other establishment or organization take part of their role, they are considering person with Down syndrome to be needed in the society. Take your action today and not tomorrow, because a fight for the rights of people with Down syndrome have no fear because they are no barriers anymore. For me, it would also take part of new role in the society – moving forward in positive world.

~Status message in facebook, March 28, Friday, 9:32 p.m.

 

Finding a new words for your right decision of your little brighter ideas will make a change in your neighborhood. Small group, perhaps, can make a change. Or it should start somewhere else with some schools around the town. And I believe there are more seven special schools around the town here in our area. I don’t have specialization career here. But being as an advocacy drives me to get a higher role – is to become a role model. I may be not a perfect leader, but I can be a follower to anyone who can manage to listen at my good sides. I may be not a perfect writer, but more than words can attract more parents to read about this article. Campaigning is not also easy as it may seems to look. But rather, I’m focusing more in this small country we have here in the Philippines.

 

Two years until now, I became an active member here in the Philippines’ Down Syndrome Association of the Philippines or DSAPI. Showing my guilt in the past became lesser and lesser as I continued flourishing myself in positivity sides of the world. Changing might be good. But starting from the point will change higher if I continue spreading the good news.

 

I’ve been also in denial stage before. But I continue bringing more good news from my stories. In this imperfect world we have now are our guidance to improve more to ourselves. Starting from our special parents who helped us to grow stronger, we also know how to care of ourselves. In this journey of my story, I will still continue to bless my story.

 

No greater success comes from a little story. But a greater story comes with a positive side at the back of our mind. Greater care, greater patience, greater unconditional love and greater guidance have more flourishing from the special parents to take care of us. I am even blessed that I still have grandparents on my side. Continuing to bless sharing my story is my honor. Spread about all the love I take to you.

 

Fights for the rights: Changing in denial stage to acceptance stage to fighting stage

Fighting stage

We always have to be sensitive every time there is an issue against anyone who wants what is right and what is wrong. Tell them that they are wrong. I’ve been in denial stage before. Now I accepted the things that it was no going back to the place I was before. Looking forward to the future is always what we are going for. Honestly, there are many ways to stop the discrimination around the nation. And within the nation must comply honoring these special children with their capabilities they are unique and creative.

 

Look for this example, one of the best fighters is Michael Phelps. He is diagnosed as ADHD. All of his competitors are already on their best. But Michael is not still finished yet. He continued to fight for his freedom. What is freedom? Michael has freedom to express his nature despite he has ADHD. But he is no longer labeling him having ADHD, he has to live normally what we are. Like Michael Phelps, there’s Enchong Dee. Enchong Dee was a swimmer before. And he is already an actor in this generation. Stopping them is not an option, but to fight for their own good.

 

In my field, I may have an option, looking forward without turning back anymore and not stopping where I am going to my success. That is the fighting spirit, the fighting stage we are also known for our capabilities. We are unique. We are creative. We emphasize the world we are looking for the brighter future. And there is no tomorrow. Because fighting for your own child might change the society in a better world.

 

What are your concerns for your special child with Down syndrome?

There are many types of your concerns with your special child with Down syndrome. Like in my case, my parents said that I don’t have to worry for my heart problems. But I’m worrying about my health issues. Lesser to think at the back of my head only can make having problems with pulmonary, pneumonia and other health issues also.

 

Taking care of your special child with Down syndrome has many types of heart problems. Before turning to one year old, have your special child to go to the pediatrician or to your family doctor. Consult if there has an issues. With heart problems, parents should worry about their special child despite what they are having problems. Take a good look, God give you a special child. Does have you to be worry? He sees you to take care of special child He has given to you. The kingdom has pass down every special child in each family. But looking forward with positive attitude, you will always have to say bye-bye issues already.

 

Have you read the previous articles of No labels as Down syndrome?

If you haven’t read some article of No labels as Down syndrome series, there are two more previous articles will take you to read in this articles below:

 

No labels as Down syndrome

https://itsmikki.wordpress.com/2014/01/28/no-labels-as-down-syndrome/

No labels as Down syndrome: Conquering the new fear

https://itsmikki.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/no-labels-as-down-syndrome-conquering-the-new-fear/

 

The signs of Down syndrome:

Hyper mobility

What is hyper mobility? Have you check his or her legs and arms? Children with Down syndrome have flexible arms and legs that can stretch than normal people except for talented ballet dancers. When they are starting to flex their muscles in their arms and legs, try to reduce their stretching arms and legs by doing some stitched pants and stitched arm supporters. In this way, it will lower their flexibility.

 

Hyperthyroidism

What is hyperthyroidism? Normally, children and adults with Down syndrome will eat their infinite eating habits. As it grows, their muscles in their body will become an issue among us. Like doing a physical exercise and eat a right amount of diet will slower their appetite. If you start to an earlier age of months, try to discipline your special child with Down syndrome. If not, try to consult to a pediatrician what it will can do to your child with special needs.

 

First toe finger to second toe finger

Normally, a child or an adult with Down syndrome has their unique characteristics other than who’s also has Down syndrome. To mention that their first toe finger is slightly far a bit from their second toe finger. That is one of the characteristics of being having Down syndrome. You cannot change the fact that they could change. But to accept their condition, you also have be a role model as a parent to take care of your special child with Down syndrome.

 

Slant face, short nose, wide tongue, unsized ears, height

What are the other characteristics of Down syndrome? Normally some of those who have not all have slant faces, short noses, wide tongues, unsized ears (meaning their both ears are not the same height) and height, they are already characterized as Down syndrome. Like in my case, I don’t have slant face and short nose. But I do have a wide tongue and unsized ears. Unsized ears are usually have not the same height in different angles.

 

Therapies:

1. Physical therapy

At the earlier age, I started at 2 years old by sending me to the physical therapist during the early 1980’s. Many doctors don’t know how to prepare their medications towards among us, children and adult with Down syndrome. I was diagnosed with mosaic Down syndrome, trisomy 21 chromosomes.

 

In my early age of 2, I sent to the school to have physical therapy. But it was quite that I didn’t remember very well. But that was another story. Sending to your therapist of your special child with Down syndrome as earlier as 4 or maybe 6 months, babies should start crawling by now if I am correct or not. If this didn’t work with you, consult a pediatrician and a doctor to get a results from them.

 

2. Speech therapy

During my those days I was having troubling to speak directly from my mouth, I wasn’t handling my speech during my childhood days. Some of my schoolmates were bullying because of my speech. I may have had a condition, but I was recovering through all manifesting years. Speech therapy is the most important therapy. Having your special child with Down syndrome take to the speech therapist. The therapist would welcome you a happy child. Because normally with those Down syndrome, we always have to be happy all the time.

 

In my condition, I was sent to a therapist when I was a child. Normally, I didn’t know all the troubles my mother would sending me to the therapist. So one hour packed filling with the therapist, the child should nourish their lessons to be learned in one-hour session. And to regret for the days I didn’t remember, it was time to let it go for me when I’ve entered the high school because I’ve had to learn on my own. After college, I still didn’t know how to write the sentence properly. After taking up the certificate in call center training last March 2012, I’ve ended up working in a special school being as an assistant teacher who assisted among special children with special needs last June 2013.

 

3. Occupational therapy

Behavior is always the main problem when reaching to your special child with Down syndrome. Sending your special child with Down syndrome to the therapist would fit to change the results.

 

In earlier age of 2, physical therapy and occupational therapy were the most improved therapy that would’ve done me today. It took me one year as I heard from my mom. But I learned from my mom. And mom knows best.

 

4. Vision therapy

Checking your special child with Down syndrome to the optometrist has a bit problem although I also have undergone too when I was entering the school before fourth grade. Seeing is hard to see what is blurry to your mind. To check the condition, consult first to the pediatrician if the special child with Down syndrome has problems in eye vision. Today, there’s already a vision therapy, a new therapy that was introduced to the world. Not only the children with special needs will benefit this but also the adults with special needs also will benefit this. If your neighbor, your brother, your sister, your parents, your relative or to your friend might have eye vision problem. Try consult with a vision therapist just in case you need a help.

 

5. Audio therapy

Your special child might having a problem with their hearing despite of all noises. Did you that the more decibels you are hearing might cause a little problem? Did you know that the fourth pollution was noise pollution? Sending your special child to the doctor will help you to determine if it’s having problem with hearing problems. To indicate if it causes, try to consult to a pediatrician if they allow your child send to the audio laboratory.

 

The most powerful tool we can allow to change the world is to show them our showcasing talent we have. Or the livelihood project that starts with all. Or to test the life skills we can show to the world. With this knowledge, people with Down syndrome will be flourishing their life to share their story in the world where you will go.

 

No barriers: The livelihood project, the life skills, the talents

 

The livelihood project

What is livelihood project? Livelihood project is based to your special child with special needs that is more likely to help your child to increase their skill and talent. If they learn very well, they could earn through selling some of their skilled efforts. For example, your special child learned how to bake the cookie and eventually sold them in a quantity. The community in their role would understand the benefit for the children to grow independently.

 

I was given a chance to run a business which my mom gave me a cellphone loading business. The loading business I am still doing running up to the present since June 2006. Creating your special child or special adult with this kind of livelihood project will giving an opportunity your child be given to work in a community.

 

The life skills

What are the life skills? Life skills are basically types of what you can do around your house. It can also take part in the community where your special child will learn new life skill. Like doing a household chore is already a life skill. Practicing your special child at home doing some household chores will increase the special child to motivate on their own independent. Increasing your special child with special needs about the things to learn around the house should know how to take care of themselves. Like having difficult making a bed neat and clean or the room has been filled with mess, practice your special child to take care of their own living life. Teach them how to take care of the bed, how to take care of their little brother or little sister, of teach them how to grow up how to be a good special adult someday. But teaching a special teen with special needs how to drive, that is another story. Take a good look around the community and tell me what’s their story all about.

 

The talents

The talents vary on one thing – their passion to carry throughout their life. If your special child is good at sports, send him or her to the nearest community where your special child is already learning their talent in running, swimming or any sports they could do. If your special child is very talented in singing, send the child in music ministry in the church, or in music therapy. Your special child will learn eventually things are going well in the community. But if your special child is well talented in other things, let them grow, teach them how to enhance it, encourage them to a positive mind, and grow positively through their hearts. Your passion is to support your special child to grow to their potential talent.

 

Itsmikki Studio. 2014 Copyrights. All rights reserved.

